Wewe ni american?

I chose to volunteer in Tanzania because it is out of my comfort zone.  I chose Tanzania because I am a lifelong learner. My degree is in Spanish and Latin American History from Emory University.  I have traveled, volunteered, and lived throughout Central and South America.  I know the language, I know the culture. That’s not enough. I want to learn more. I am learning Swahili and in that process, I’ve reconnected the empathy of the difficulty of learning another language–that my students face–and that the teachers and students in Tanzania face on a daily basis.   Have you tried learning a language recently?  I’ve been using Duolingo to get started.  For some reason, the only thing that has stuck is the following phrase: Wewe ni american?  (Are you American?).  I have so much to learn.

duolingo

Author: Kate Schelbe

I am a dog-mom, daughter, sister, friend, and educator. I love books, bikes, and mountains. I strive to be an agent for positive change in the world.

Leave a comment