My Educational Journey

Today is the end of my journey. At the same time, it is the start of my next adventure. Today marks my last day at Journeys School, where I have worked for the past nine years.   I have worn many hats there including; Spanish teacher, advisor, director of the middle school, k-12 coordinator of faculty training and operations, capstone teacher and more.  Although I have not earned a degree from Journeys School, it has played a fundamental role in my education as a person and professional.   Thus, I will add it to the steps along my educational journey.  

I am thankful for the community of learners and educators I have been a part of.  Each of you has shaped me into the person I am today.

Here are some of the lessons, ideas, and topics I am taking with me: place-based education, the sustainability triangle, design thinking, growth mindset, integrated curriculum, standards-based grading, professional learning communities, the waterline model,  SO much information about the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem… The list could go on for hours.

Now on to the next journey.

Author: Kate Schelbe

I am a dog-mom, daughter, sister, friend, and educator. I love books, bikes, and mountains. I strive to be an agent for positive change in the world.

Leave a Reply

